JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2023: Age Limit

  • By Bhavya Thakkar
  • 22 November 2022
JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2023

5800 students unlocked their dream jobs with UG/PG programs in top colleges. Apply Now!

Candidates appearing for the Joint Entrance Examination Advanced in 2023 will have to meet the eligibility criteria. So, if you are one such candidate, this article is for you. Keep reading to learn about the various factors that comprise the eligibility criteria. If you do not fulfil the JEE Advanced eligibility criteria, you will be disqualified. 

Before we proceed further, please note that only JEE Main qualified candidates can sit for JEE Advanced 2023. For your information, we have discussed the JEE Advanced eligibility criteria 2023 in this article.

JEE Advanced 2023 Eligibility Criteria

Before filling out the application form, candidates should check the JEE Advanced 2023 eligibility criteria. Here is more information on the JEE Advanced age limit, the number of attempts, qualifying marks and more:

Qualify Performance JEE Main 2023

Candidates should compulsorily qualify for the JEE Main 2023 (Paper 1) and be among the top 2,50,000 candidates to be eligible for JEE Advanced 2023. The categories will be divided as the following:

  • GEN-EWS - 10%
  • OBC-NCL - 27%
  • SC - 15%
  • ST - 7.5%
  • OPEN - 40.5%
  • PwD - 5% horizontal reservation in all of the above.

Age Limit for JEE Advanced

Candidates should not have been born before October 1, 1997. However, a relaxation of 5 years will be given to SC, ST and PwD candidates (born on or after October 1, 1992).

JEE Advanced Attempts 

Candidates can have two attempts at clearing the JEE Advanced in two consecutive years. 

Appearance in the 12th (or equivalent) Examination

All candidates should successfully pass the 10+2 level or 12th grade examination in 2023 or 2024 for the first time. Candidates who appeared for their 12th standard qualifying exam in 2020 and their result was declared on or after October 15, 2020, will also be termed eligible for JEE Advanced 2023, provided they meet the other eligibility criteria. 

Here is a list of examinations that are considered equivalent to the 12th standard:

  • Board examination of the 10+2 system, conducted by a Central or State Board recognised by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU).
  • Any Public School, Board, or University examination in India or in a The AIU recognised foreign country.
  • Final examination of the two-year course of the Joint Services Wing of the National Defence Academy.
  • Intermediate or two-year Pre-University examination conducted by a Board or University recognised by the Association of Indian Universities.
  • Senior Secondary School Examination conducted by the National Institute of Open Schooling with a minimum of five subjects.
  • Diploma recognised by the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) or a State Board of Technical Education of at least 3 years duration.
  • H.S.C. vocational examination.
  • High School Certificate Examination of the Cambridge University or International Baccalaureate Diploma of the International Baccalaureate Office, Geneva.
  • General Certificate Education (GCE) examination (London, Cambridge or Sri Lanka) at the Advanced (A) level.

JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2023 - IIT Qualification Marks Required in Qualifying Exam

Candidates will be required to meet the following criteria for admission into IITs:

  • Candidates must have cleared the 12th or qualifying examination.
  • Candidates should be within the top 20 category percentile of the qualifying examination.
  • Candidates should take into account the scores of five subjects — Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Language and any one other subject.

JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2023 - Eligibility Criteria for IIT

  • The marks scored in the 12th grade or equivalent exam will be considered while calculating the category-wise cutoff marks for the top 20 percentile. For example, if you have passed the 12th standard (or equivalent) examination in 2022, the cutoff for the top 20 percentile will be considered for the same academic year.
  • Cutoff marks for PwD candidates will be the same as the lowest of the cutoff marks for other categories.
  • Suppose a candidate appeared for the qualifying exam for the first time in 2022 and wishes to reappear in 2023 with the objective of qualifying for the top 20 percentile cutoff. He or she will have to reattempt all of the subjects. And for that candidate, the top 20 percentile cutoff of 2022 will be considered. 
  • In case a Board does not provide information about the top 20 percentile cutoff, the candidates will have to produce a certificate from the respective board stating that he/she falls within the top 20 percentile of successful candidates.

We hope this article helped you develop a vivid understanding of the eligibility criteria for IIT

FAQ - JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria 2023

  • How many attempts do we have in JEE Advanced?

Candidates who failed to secure the 20 percentile score in the JEE Advanced on their first attempt can try again next year. Students are allowed only two consecutive JEE Advanced attempts limit.

  • How much percentage is required for the IIT?

To qualify for IIT, candidates must have scored at least 50% in aggregate in their 12th-grade examination. They also need to be in the top 20 percentile of that respective board. 

  • Who is eligible for JEE Advanced?

Candidates who have passed 12th grade or equivalent examination with Physics, Chemistry, and Mathematics as their core subjects. Such candidates should also have passed JEE Mains, and only this qualifies them for the JEE Advanced. 

Take the first step towards your dream job.

Enter a world of


Apply for graduate or postgraduate program and shape your career now!

Full Name
Mobile Number
I want to pursue